SJ Wardell Interview

As promised, I have gotten an interview with an author =) the interviewee is Steven Wardell who is best known for his debut book The Ultimate Selection: Be Careful Who You Talk To. Steve has recently published his second book Infinite Retribution and has kindly agreed to do this interview for us.

1) So Steve, you’re new book INFINITE RETRIBUTION has just come out, how did you get the idea for that?
I’m not sure to be honest; I was busy writing The Ultimate Selection and thinking about the sequel, when the idea popped in my head. I fully intended to release a standalone between the two books in order to show my reading audience that I had more dimension to my writing. I knew that I didn’t want to write about another serial killer and I do enjoy the cleverness of “crime capers,” but with more of a violent, gritty edge. My mind started ticking and before I knew it, Infinite Retribution was already starting to take shape

2) Who are your biggest inspirations?
My biggest inspirations have to be my wife and our two children. Outside that I have been drawn to fantastic writers like, Lynda Le Plante who always manage to keep the flow intelligent. Another person is a brilliant lady called Jackie Malton. Jackie is the Director of Prime Crime UK.

3) Can you tell us how you came into the writing scene?
I always had the calling all the way back to when I was a young teenager. (Corny I know.) One day I made a promise to myself, “to do something about it.” – I enrolled and did my degree in Prose Fiction Writing and Journalism; and the rest as they say, “is history.”

4) How did you come across getting an agent/publisher?
I enlisted the help of my wife for the search. After many rejections, or “Pink Slips” as we know them, we decided that the Self Publishing route may be the less painful way to go. I spoke to, met and considered many Self Publishing Houses; it was one who stuck out, head and shoulders above the rest. Acorn Independent Press Ltd, a publishing house still young in their set-up. Their energy and excitement with regard to me and my work was what welcomed me to sign with them – Two books published and many more on the way, I am delighted that we found each other.

5) What have been your hardships along the way?
Very, very long working hours – Writing a manuscript is the easy part. Deciding to become a published author is a massive commitment; After-all it’s a business.

6) How are you finding fans reactions to your books?
Amazing! I have been blown away by my reader’s reactions and their very kind words of praise.

7) What do you have in store over the next coming year?
Once the sequel to The Ultimate Selection has been released, I plan to write another standalone – This book will be about the rise of a boy to manhood via the violent world that surrounds him; the story will be written through his eyes. I’m currently researching this – My publisher has asked me if I’d look in to writing a crime series, so I’m thinking up ideas for that too.

8) What advice would you give to your fans?
I’m not sure… If they’re thinking about picking up a pen, then I’d encourage them in every way that I can.

9) Anything else you would like to say?
I would like to thank everyone who has read, or is reading either of the books I have out at the moment. I would like to send a massive “Thank you” to you for inviting me to take part in this Q&A; Oh, and welcome you to the world of the “Published Author.”

A huge thanks to Steve for taking part in this, and we look forward to seeing you on the site again
Leave a Reply

