Blood Exchange – Excerpt

“Have you ever been in love before?” He had been around for more than four hundred years so it was possible that there had been plenty of women over the years. And then I thought about the laws. Human and Vampire relationships were strictly forbidden – was it because relationships had been formed centuries ago? Had things turned so bad that these laws needed to be inputted in stop things from turning sour again?

“Yes. It was back in 1710, just before I turned one hundred years old – Vampire years that is. Her name was Elizabeth. I met her whilst we were back in Romania” I noticed that his eyes began to flicker as he started to talk about her “I saw her whilst we were out hunting one night, she was beautiful. Long blonde hair, pale skin and her scent was intoxicating. I knew I had to meet her so I introduced myself to her. Unfortunately the village people figured out who was attacking their villagers and drove out the Vampires”

“Elizabeth hid me from the villagers. Even though she knew the truth about me she told me that she still wanted to be with me. Elizabeth found me animals to feed upon but after a couple of months the blood-lust started to become too strong. I found myself both physically and mentally weak. One night I found myself unable to hold on any more and I fed on her. I didn’t mean for it to go so far but I couldn’t stop myself” I could see the sadness in his eyes and I knew that he was truly sorry for what had happened.

Leave a Reply

