Interview – Amy Jambor

clip_image002[2]

Today I welcome A.L. Jambor to my blog.  What does the A.L. stand for?
Amy Louise.  I’m thinking of using my first name for my next book because I’m a little more confident about who I am.

So thank you Amy, tell us a bit about your books
My first book, But the Children Survived, was an apocalyptic science fiction novel.  A biological weapon is accidentally released killing everyone in the USA except a special group of children and an old terrier dog.  The book is about where the weapon came from and what made these children and that ancient dog immune.  My Pello Island series is about the residents of Pello Island and a catastrophe involving Neptune, Roman god of the oceans.  The people who lived on this island die as the result of Neptune’s blunder and consequently, Jupiter decides to give them a second chance to fulfill their destinies.  Some go one as planned, while others take forever to bring theirs to fruition. Those people live on and on for two thousand years, until events on Olympus demand they complete their destinies, or be sealed in Hades forever.

What inspires you to write and are your characters based on anyone you know?
Almost every character in But the Children Survived is based on a member of my family.  One of the main characters, Andrew, is based on my son, and the heroine, Mindy, is based on my granddaughter.  The dog is based on my dog, Trixie.  The Pello Islanders are all fabricated, products of my muse.

How did you come up with the idea?
For But the Children Survived, I was looking at a picture of my granddaughter that was stuck to my refrigerator.  Suddenly I saw her running down the hallway of my home, carrying my dog.  That was the beginning of the book.  For the Pello Island series, I’ve always wondered what it would be like to live in someone else’s body for a day, to really walk in their shoes.

What hardships have you had to face since you started your writing journey?
I’m very fortunate in that I have a very supportive husband and the luxury of time.  My children are raised and I have recently retired.  Not a hardship so much, but when I get a bad review, at first it stings, then I take what I can from it, the legitimate, well thought out criticism, and hopefully learn from it and go on.

How do you get through writer’s block?
Sometimes I just have to walk away from what I’m writing for a while and work on something else such as my blog.  Reading also helps.  We are born creative.  The ideas will return.

How did you know you wanted to be an author?
I wish I could say I knew it all my life, but the truth is until I had that vision of my granddaughter running down the hall, I never thought about writing.  I’m like Grandma Moses; one day I just started writing.

Any information on upcoming books?
The last book in the Pello Island series, Destinies Fulfilled, is due out soon, hopefully in February, and I’m very excited about this one.  It focuses on the Roman gods who have labored over these islanders and what fate has in store for them, as well as tying up a storyline that began in Antonia, Pello Island 3.

Anything you want to say about people who wish to get their work published?
I always encourage people to do what is in their heart.  If you believe this is what you want to do, then do it.  Send it to a publisher; publish it yourself – whatever feels right for you.  I am too old to be rejected one thousand times so I chose self-publishing.  I’m good with a computer so formatting didn’t intimidate me, but there are so many resources out there for self-publishers that there is really no excuse not to try.  Putting a manuscript on Amazon is free, but take pride in what you do.  Edit, edit, edit, then have someone else edit.  Proofreading is essential as well. And be good to your readers.

A.L. Jambor’s

Blog – Java with Jambor

Twitter – ALJambor

Website – aljambor.weebly.com

Pinterest

Books

But the Children Survived

Pello Island Cassia

Darius Pello Island 2

Antonia Pello Island 3

One thought on “Interview – Amy Jambor

Leave a Reply

