Nicole Field

pic

Tell us a bit about your books

Well, the main characters of Gothic were originally based on a dream that I had. The actual story has expanded so that it’s almost unrecognisable from its origins, though. Gothic is the first novel in the Shadows of Melbourne series, which is about a human girl called Dahlia Noone who is struggling with attaining the normal life she so very much desires after having grown up with a werewolf pack acting as her ‘father’ in her real father’s absence, and a vampire for a godmother.

What inspired you?

This would be where I say that the dream I had leading up to this novel inspired me, but there have been a couple of other things. Originally, the first draft for this novel was written while I was doing my Honours year. I just needed something that was fun and a bit more frivolous to focus on. Gothic is fun. Its characters are people that I have enjoyed coming back to every time I’ve started up drafting subsequent novels. I’ve also found a bit of inspiration in envisioning Melissa George, Ksenia Solo and Ian Somerhalder as some of the main characters.

Are your characters based on people that you know?

Oh goodness, no. Although, in my younger days, there were a lot of us who stayed up all night and slept all through the days, not too dissimilar to vampires. There are some autobiographical frames for the novel, such as the academic interests Dahlia pursues, and the bout of depression that Dahlia encounters in later books.

What hardships have you had to face since you started your writing journey?

Promotion. Isn’t that always the way with authors? We are made to write, to marvel at our books in physical or digital shelves. I sure as hell know nobody advised me of all the promotional work that would come into making your novel a success. Still, it has its silver lining; I have met and made some wonderful friendships with people I wouldn’t have come across had I not been doing my own promotions.

What research do you undertake to help you write?

I have done a number of writing courses, both at TAFE and university levels. Whenever I’m writing, I also tend to have a number of books in similar genres sitting on my bedside table.

Any information on upcoming books?

Gothic is the first novel in my Shadows of Melbourne series. It is to be followed by Revelry which, depending on when this interview gets aired, may possibly be out already. Revelry is definitely coming soon, and is about the realisation that comes for Dahlia, the vampires and the werewolves realising that these are not the only supernatural creatures who roam Melbourne’s streets.

Anything you want to say about people who wish to get their work published?

Be persistent. Even if things don’t seem to be going the way you want them to immediately, try to see it as a valuable stepping stone. Always edit your work, sometimes try to see if friends or family will read through your writing and make suggestions. Workshop groups are a godsend, if you are lucky enough to be able to find them. Learn to get a thick skin, and understand that every ‘no’ you hear brings you that much closer to the eventual ‘yes’.

https://twitter.com/faerywhimsy

https://www.facebook.com/NicoleDFergusson

http://www.amazon.com/Nicole-D.-Fergusson/e/B009WDI2JM/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Also these links for other places I am prominently on the net:

http://nicole-d-fergusson.blogspot.com.au

http://faerywhimsy.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

