Eric Swett

403477_10151799724565393_1422070432_n

Tell us a bit about your books 

My book, Apocalypse Rising, is an Urban Fantasy about a junkie and a fallen Angel that witness the gruesome murder of a prostitute by a powerful businessman. When they are forced to flee or face certain death, the Angel must face his doubts and restore his faith in order to save himself and his friend. As they run, they become entangled in the plots and twists of a world on the brink of madness.

What inspired you? 

A friend of mine named Craig Sottolano had written an Urban Fantasy called One Right Tricky Bastard, and he asked me to edit it for him. I started going through his manuscript looking for grammar issues, but I got hooked into the world and the story so much that I was not able to do the grammar check. So when I started a little writing exercise where I wrote at least one-hundred words a day, I decided to do an Urban Fantasy. A lot of the inspiration for the storyline came from my own struggle of faith.

Are your characters based on people that you know? 

Not really. I suppose there are some traits that can be found in people I know, but there are no characters modelled after individuals I know. When I write my characters I tend to think of them in the abstract until they are pretty well developed, so it doesn’t leave much time for modelling.

What hardships have you had to face since you started your writing journey? 

That is a tough one to answer. I’ve been writing off and on for the last twenty years, and there has been a lot going on in there.  Since I started writing more actively and consistently, I would say that the hardest thing has been moving from Oregon to North Carolina and losing my job after three months. It took me two years to find a job that even came close to paying the bills again.  You really learn to appreciate what you have when you don’t have much.

What research do you undertake to help you write? 

I’m not a huge research guy, but writing fantasy and science fiction lends itself well to that. Of course I do some research, but it tends to be on the fly and completely internet based. After I’m done writing this series I plan on returning to my post apocalyptic novel, and I’ll be doing a lot of research for that rewrite.

Any information on upcoming books? 

The sequel to Apocalypse Rising should be out before summer. I was trying to get it out last fall, but my wife had a baby and that threw my timeline right out the window. The sequel will include some of the characters from the first book, but the primary focus will be on someone else. The book is quite a bit longer (90k words versus 60k) and has a lot more action in it. Personally I think it will really take the series to a whole new level.

Anything you want to say about people who wish to get their work published? 

Get writing. Don’t stop writing. Edit. Honestly, the editing should be a huge part of your process, but don’t let it undermine your forward progress. It doesn’t matter how awesome the first half of the book is if you never finish it.

Links:

One thought on “Eric Swett

Leave a Reply

