DelSheree Gladden

DelShereeGladden4

Tell us a bit about your books
I love to write young adult fiction, especially when I can take a little something unusual and introduce it to the real world. In my first book, Escaping Fate, I pulled from the Aztec gods along with human sacrifice and curses. Twin Souls Saga has a strong Native American background. I used many well-known myths and stories from the Native American cultures in the Southwest, but I came up with a few new ones in order to tell the story of Uriah and Claire and their fight to overcome the Twin Soul bond. My newest series, The Destroyer Trilogy, takes a step into an alternate reality where everyone has talents, but Libby’s unprecedented 7 talents mark her as the world’s greatest enemy. Libby must either find a way to escape her destiny or face death by Guardian blade.

What inspired you?
As you can tell from the first question, I find a lot of inspiration from myths and legends. I also get inspiration from more random sources. Song lyrics, lines or words from a book, even funny things my kids say have all inspired novel ideas for me.

Are your characters based on people that you know? 
Not on specific people, no. Qualities I admire in people I know may influence some of the characters I write, but more than anything I always try to make my characters unique in some way.

What hardships have you had to face since you started your writing journey?
I faced many of the same difficulties most writers face. Getting an agent or publisher to take notice seemed impossible. I self-published four books before signing a contract with a small publishing house. Unfortunately that relationship did not pan out as well as I had hoped and we went our separate ways. I have gone back to self-publishing for now, but I have met many other great small publishers through my blog that treat their authors very well and work hard to help them succeed.

What research do you undertake to help you write?
I spend a lot of time researching different cultures, their myths and legends, and their history. With my Twin Souls books, I have lived most of my life in New Mexico, so Native American mythology was something I was familiar with. I still needed to do more research in order to get the details right and create believable fictional myths. I even took a college class on New Mexico history to make sure what I wrote was accurate.

Any information on upcoming books?
Currently, I am working on my “Godling” series about two siblings who have an strange, uncontrollable hunger for pain. They struggle to control themselves, but their fight worsens when a strange new girl arrives. This singular girl may hold the key either to their survival or their deaths.

Anything you want to say about people who wish to get their work published?
Definitely be persistent. It is very difficult to get a contract with one of the big six publishers, and with the current economic climate, agents are wary of taking on unproven authors. Explore small publishers, but really do your research before signing a contract. Make sure they have a good track record with past authors and get a detailed marketing plan from them. Good marketing is key to getting your name out there and getting your books into readers’ hands.  In fact, I just signed a contract with GMTA publishing for my Godling Hunger series. I am very excited to work with them!

8 thoughts on “DelSheree Gladden

    • Thanks for stopping by, Leigh. As much as new authors want to sign a contract, I learned the hard way that sometimes it may be better to pass and save yourself from a bad contract. Always ask a lot of questions, and if possible, have someone else in the industry look over a contract before signing.

  1. Thank you for sharing. We have thought about writing and publishing some books as well. I know that it is hard to get published and it takes alot of no’s before you finally find that one person who is willing to give you a chance.

Leave a Reply

