Uzuri Wilkerson

blog pic

Tell us a bit about your books.

“Sweet” is adult paranormal fiction. It’s the first volume in my “Bitten” series.  In “Sweet,” we’re introduced to Celia and her vampire boyfriend Victor. Celia has her qualms about dating a vampire and soon finds herself straying. When she meets Jay, she’s intrigued. He’s rugged, sexy, and opinionated… He’s also a hunter in town from Dallas. He joins up with a local bunch of hunters in the quest to rid Boston of all non-breathing folks—including Victor. Celia’s soon caught in the middle of a turf war in this fun, steamy thriller.

What inspired you?

I’ve always loved science fiction. I had this image of a girl who was dating a vampire only she didn’t know what he was. A hunter comes into the picture and tries to make her see what a danger her boyfriend is. Once I sat down to write, however, the story evolved a little differently. I wanted to keep the hunter trying to make the girl stick with the living. But I changed it so that she knows her boyfriend is a vampire. She is generally okay with that fact but she is uneasy at times. She battles her feelings for Victor as well as Jay’s forceful opinions. But don’t be fooled; Celia is strong-willed and independent. She works hard, makes her own money, and loves her family and friends. She’s not easily swayed and when she’s determined, she is resolute.

Are your characters based on people that you know?

Not really but I do see Jensen Ackles when I picture the hunter Jay. I was told in my screenwriting classes in college that a beneficial tool is to image an actor who you think would be perfect for your characters, and I find myself doing that at times. And for Celia, I knew two women in college with curly hair so that’s where her hairstyle came from.

What hardships have you had to face since you started your writing journey?

The search for an agent has been the hardest, most painful part. You have to develop a thick skin or else you’ll give up after the first ten rejections. I’m glad I didn’t give up or I wouldn’t have found the publishing company I’ve signed with and wouldn’t have had an actual book, which I think was the most exciting part.

What research do you undertake to help you write?

It depends but sometimes I have to research locations or historical events for accuracy. My stories are all modern day but occasionally I still need to go visit sites to make sure I describe them properly.

Any information on upcoming books?

“Sour” is the second volume and will be available this summer. I have other projects, including more of the “Bitten” series that I hope will be published as well.

Anything you want to say about people who wish to get their work published?

Keep trying. There’s an agent or publisher out here for you but you can’t give up on your dream. And there is self-publishing as well as an alternative, if you don’t want to wait or compromise. There are companies and organizations that provide editing and proofreading services. Just always have fresh eyes review your work before publishing.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/uzurimwilkerson

Twitter: www.twitter.com/uzuri_iruzu

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Sweet-Uzuri-M-Wilkerson/dp/0615638910/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_1

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/14762116-sweet

Sweet front final

Now this sounds like my kinda book 🙂

Leave a Reply

