Chantal Bellehumeu​r

1

Today we welcome Chantal Bellehumeur to the author spotlight. Here is the biography that Chantal has written about herself:

I always loved to write but never thought about publishing anything until a friend of mine told me I should. Before that, I was more interested in acting. I performed in a couple of amateur stage showed and joined a Youth run Theatre Company. I was also an extra in a few commercials, TV shows and movies. My love for acting soon got replaced with the love for my son. I made him my number one priority. I found it easier to write on my spare time than to work around other people’s schedules to act. I found that I had to use some of my acting training to write since I had to put myself in the shoes of the characters I created.

I write a bit of everything; Horror is more ME, but I wrote a series of soap operas/romance books for female readers as well as a fantasy book for my pre-teen son. I have been receiving a lot of positive feedback and am hoping that others will help me pass the word along about my books, even if I simply write as a hobby. I started writing short stories for The Suburban’s Online Magazine. You can read «A Mother’s Love», by going to http://www.thesuburban.com and clicking on the magazine tab (go to the April 26 2013 issue.) While I continue to come up with stories, I encourage my son to so some writing of his own since he is full of good ideas and has a big imagination. He reminds me of myself as a child. I am a single mom and feel very lucky to have Aidan in my life.

So Chantal, welcome to my blog. It is great to have you here. Tell us a little about yourself.
I always loved to write but never thought about publishing anything until a friend of mine told me I should. Before that, I was more interested in acting. I performed in a couple of amateur stage showed and joined a Youth run Theatre Company. I was also an extra in a few commercials, TV shows and movies. My love for acting soon got replaced with the love for my son. I made him my number one priority. I found it easier to write on my spare time than to work around other people’s schedules to act. I found that I had to use some of my acting training to write since I had to put myself in the shoes of the characters I created.

I write a bit of everything; Horror is more ME, but I wrote a series of soap operas/romance books for female readers as well as a fantasy book for my pre-teen son. I have been receiving a lot of positive feedback and am hoping that others will help me pass the word along about my books, even if I simply write as a hobby. I started writing short stories for The Suburban’s Online Magazine. You can read «A Mother’s Love» for free by going to www.thesuburban.com and clicking on the magazine tab (go to the April 26 2013 issue.)  My story “A Father’s Promise” will be published in June, just on time for Father’s Day.  I am already working on a new story with the same characters. While I continue to come up with stories, I encourage my son to so some writing of his own since he is full of good ideas and has a big imagination. He reminds me of myself as a child. I am a single mom and feel very lucky to have Aidan in my life.

Tell us about your books.
The first book I published was “Veronica’s Soap Opera Life”.  It is a fictional diary I thought woman could relate to.  I ended up writing two more books, “Veronica’s Attempt at Romance” and “Veronica’s Happily Ever After” to make it a series.

I have always been very fascinated with the Jack the Ripper murders, so one day I decided to do some research about the case and based a character on one of the suspects.  I created a modern character that is actually the reincarnation of Jack, and turned him into an even bigger monster.  I tried to come up with the worst killer ever.  The result was my horror novel “Just.Another.Common.Killer.”  If you take a look at the first letters of the title, it spells Jack.  A friend of mine thought of that.  With his permission I put it to good use in my story.

I also published a book called “Thirteen-A Compilation of Short Stories”.  It includes thirteen creepy stories. Because the contents of my books are not suited for my son, I ended up writing a fantasy novel called “Sdrawkcab” for him.  It started off as a weird dream that I had, and soon turned into a wonderful project. I would write a chapter and read it to my son for his input.  We kind of worked on it together.  The name of the book is actually the word backwards in reverse by the way.  We came up with this name because the world I created is rather backwards.

Finally, I also wrote a really long novel called “Hope”, although I must admit that it is not by best work.  I wrote it when I was really sick and desperate to make my family and close friends understand what it was like to live with Colitis.  I wrote a fictional story based on my experience when I probably should have written it as a sort of memoir instead.

How did you come into the writing game?
I use to write a lot as a child.  I stapled papers together to make little books.  As a teenager I started writing a few novels but never finished any of them.  Later in life I got more patient and ended up writing “Veronica’s Soap Opera Life”.  I didn’t do it to publish it, but when I mentioned my work to a friend of mine she told me I should.  I realised that I love writing so much and just continued to work on new stories whenever I would get inspired.

Which book has been your favourite to write?
Just.Another.Common.Killer.  I am obsessed with Halloween and love scary movies.  I wanted to create something disturbing of my own, and I think I succeeded.  Honestly, I had to put my work aside sometimes because I was freaking my own self out and kept thinking “can I really publish this?”.  I was a bit afraid of what people would think of me, but people who know me well were not shocked at all by my work.

Do you have any characters you can identify with? Or would like to be?
I based a lot of my characters on myself at first and changed them to suit my stories.

What do you like to read? And what inspires you?
I mainly like to read mysteries/horror/suspense, but sometimes you will find me with a girly book.  I get inspired by life in general.  I keep notes of things and sometimes my memories or taking a look at a picture will trigger something.  Sometimes an idea will come to me in my sleep.

Do you have any upcoming projects?
I hope to continue writing short stories for The Suburban Online Magazine.  I am currently working on a story called “An Unplanned Wedding”.

Any advice to those wishing to be an author?
Always have writing material with you, and keep writing.

Anything else you would like to say?
I want to thank those who have shown their support and also say that I appreciate all the nice compliments I have been receiving.  It motivates me to continue writing.

Quick Fire Round:
Fave Book:  It is hard to single one out.
Fave Author:  I have always been a fan of Stephen King, although I have not been reading his new stuff.  In fact, I find it hard to make time to read these days.  I have been more in the mood to write.
Fave Song: I don’t have one.  I can say that I usually like to listen to something with a good beat because I like to dance.
Fave Food: I am a chocoholic!  I also love pasta, and medium rare steaks on the grill.
Twilight/Harry Potter: Read all the books and can definitely appreciate both authors talents and hard work.

Thank you Chantal, it has been great having you here.
Thank you for taking the time to host me.

13 big Cover3 hv big jack big rv big s big veronica big

Links:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chantal-Bellehumeur-public-author-page/347446362035640
http://www.wix.com/chantalbellehumeur/me|
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Chantal-Bellehumeur/e/B008YX5YGK
http://www.amazon.com/Chantal-Bellehumeur/e/B008YX5YGK

Leave a Reply

