Clare Davidson – Book Launch Interview

Today we are joined by Clare Davidson who has just released her second book, Reaper’s Rhythm, on 26th July. Clare has given us a quick insight into her life and how she came about the book.

So Clare, tell us about Reaper’s Rhythm

Reaper’s Rhythm is an urban fantasy/supernatural mystery novel, set (loosely) in Lancaster, England. It follows sixteen-year-old Kim’s quest to prove her sister was murdered, even though everyone believes Charley committed suicide.

And a bit about yourself

I’m a mother, author and teacher with too much to do and too little time! It’s a good thing I hate twiddling my thumbs and being bored. If I’m not writing, spending time with my family, or at work, you’ll find me reading, knitting, crocheting, spinning or weaving (new hobby – as if I needed another one!).

How did you come up with the idea?

Reaper’s Rhythm came about as a darker, more grown-up offshoot of a mid-grade WIP I messed around with for a while. That WIP was initially inspired by Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson series, but I doubt you’d find those origins in Reaper’s Rhythm.

A lot of the supernatural world background came about in conversation with a friend, while walking around Georgetown, in Penang, in the sweltering heat last summer.

What research, if any, did you do and was it difficult or tedious?

I had to do research into how families cope with grief, specifically arising from suicide, to make sure I was portraying the reactions of Kim and her family in a realistic and sensitive way. It was very thought provoking and interesting.

Who is your favourite character?

Kim, obviously, as she’s the protagonist and the whole book is written from her point of view. Two of the peripheral characters that I really love are Sophie, Kim’s best friend and Chris, Kim’s little brother. Sophie is the kind of friend I hope I am and Chris is an amusing pain.

Is there any more to the series?

There will be! I’m currently writing book two.

Who, or what, inspires you?

Anything and everything. I’m often inspired by a piece of music, a beautiful photograph or anime. Other authors and novels inspire me as well.

Best place to write?

In a coffee shop. Juice Café in Lancaster, to be precise. I do most of my writing at home, but my most productive writing sessions on Reaper’s Rhythm took place in Juice Café, while drinking Oreo milkshakes.

If you weren’t an author what would you be?

A teacher. Oh, wait, I am!

Random facts about yourself?

  • I’m really short (5’ 1”).
  • I started going grey when I was sixteen (my daughter is doomed) and have been colouring my hair since my early twenties.
  • I love praline chocolates.
  • I really want to go and see the Northern Lights some day.

Thank you Clare 

Thanks for having me!

Check out http://www.claredavidson.com/ for more information about the author and the books.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000026_00100]

Here is the blurb to Reaper’s Rhythm.

When everyone thinks your sister committed suicide, it’s hard to prove she was murdered. Kim is unable to accept Charley’s sudden death. Crippled by an unnatural amnesia, her questions are met with wall after wall. As she doubts her sanity, she realises her investigation is putting those around her in danger. The only person who seems to know anything is Matthew, an elusive stranger who would rather vanish than talk. Despite his friendly smile, Kim isn’t sure she can trust him. But if she wants to protect her family from further danger, Kim must work with Matthew to discover how Charley died – before it’s too late.

Purchase links

Amazon UK

Amazon US

5 thoughts on “Clare Davidson – Book Launch Interview

  1. Pingback: Clare Davidson

  2. Pingback: Clare Davidson

Leave a Reply

