Why Write?

This is a question I find that I am asked quite often. Why do I write? And I have had to think for a while because the answer is: I have to. There are voices inside my head (good ones) that tell me that I have to get my ideas down and they keep nagging me until I get them down, even if I don’t finish them the idea has to be written. I write because there are things that I cannot say to people that need to be said. I write because it is an escape from the cruel reality that we live in. I write because I am. There are so many reasons why the urge to put words onto page is strong inside me. I have some issues that have taken me a while to deal with, and some that I am still working on, and writing is a way that I can deal with some of these issues. Writing allows me to express myself without fear of judgement.

I didn’t ask for this. No one does. It is just inside you and it appears at different times in people’s lives. I have been writing since I was 16, back then it was fanfiction and it has only been the last 18 months or so that I have stepped away from that and started to write my own stories: to create my own voice. Maybe if it had shown itself earlier I might have done better in English in school. But there we go; I can’t control it. It’s an addiction; but one we don’t need a cure for. I am proud to say that I am a writer; proud to be apart of the writing community and to stand up and say I have written a book.

Yes the writing world is harsh, we have to deal with low sales, bad reviews and major critiques but that is not going to stop us. We are who we are and having someone tell us that we are bad at it is as bad as someone telling someone they are fat. Yes we all have read a book that is terrible; but I do not comment on these. I do not wish to provide bad reviews online because I know that person put their heart and soul into their work and for that they should be given credit.

So when I’m asked why do I write, I shrug and say because I do. It is part of me and I am part of it; and removing it from my life is like cutting me in half. I lose my temper at it, I throw it away, I scream and shout and delete it. But it is all part of the process. Writing is like life; it is not easy and there are many obstacles along the way but then you get there you can be proud of what you have achieved.

So the question now stands: Why do you write?

Leave a Reply

