Erin Rhew – Interview

So I am joined today by Erin Rhew, author of ‘The Prophecy: The Fulfilment Series Book One’. Erin has taken time out of her busy schedule to provide us with some information about her and the book. So without further ado:

How did you come into writing?

I’m not sure I decided to be an author. I think I was born an author. From the time I was a little girl, I loved books and reading. I wrote my first poem at 4 about my grandparent’s car dealership. In middle school, I wrote novels for my friends. They clamored for more around the lunch table each day, which spurred me on. I took a novel writing hiatus and spent about 4 years writing plays in my early adult years, but my first love—fiction novels—drew me back. I wrote The Fulfillment Series, spent a lot of time editing, and decided to see if I could get it published. And here we are! 🙂

Tell us about your book The Prophecy.

Growing up on a small farm in the kingdom of Vanguard, seventeen-year-old Layla Givens lives a deceptively tranquil existence. But her carefully constructed life quickly falls apart when she’s abducted by a religious zealot who proclaims her The Fulfillment of an ancient peace prophecy and whisks her away to marry her greatest enemy.

Wilhelm, Prince of the Ethereals, is reluctant to meet his new bride. He’s grown up believing Vanguards are evil, an enemy to fight and fear…not love. Can he set aside his prejudices and work alongside Layla to bring lasting peace after centuries of war?

Nash, a loner who has never fit in, carries a huge secret, one big enough to destroy both kingdoms. When he accidently meets Layla, he’s no longer content to live in the shadows, but he must resist his growing attraction—for her safety and for the longevity of the two kingdoms.

When Nash’s secret is revealed, a firestorm sweeps through both realms, with Layla at the center. Now she must choose between duty and desire while the fate of two nations hangs in the balance.

How did you get the idea for that?

I can’t really point to one source of inspiration for my series. There are definitely some nods to Game of Thrones, Arthurian legend, Shakespeare, and Percy Jackson.

What genres do you enjoy reading/writing?

I read almost exclusively YA books now (with the rare exception like Game of Thrones), and I most enjoy fantasy, sci-fi, dystopian, and paranormal.

What books/authors have inspired you?

I really love Rick Riordan, Cassandra Clare, Richelle Mead, and George R.R. Martin.

What do you like to do when you are not writing?

I enjoy reading (of course—haha), hanging out with my husband (Deek Rhew), watching TV, running,

Do you have any other works in progress you can tell us about?

I am currently working on the final book in this trilogy, The Fulfillment. My editors and I made some changes in the first two books, so now I have to filter those down into the third one. Keeping consistent can be tricky! I also have a futuristic YA thriller called Number 25598 in the works as well as another young adult fantasy called Volatile.

Any advice for budding authors?

Edit, edit, edit, and then edit some more! When you think you’re done editing, edit some more.

And most importantly, NEVER ever give up!

TheProphecy_ErinAlbert_AuthorPhoto_Smaller

About the author

Erin Rhew is an author and fitness trainer.  Since she picked up Morris the Moose Goes to School at age four, she has been infatuated with the written word.  She went on to work as a grammar and writing tutor in college and is still teased by her family and friends for being a member of the “Grammar Police.”  In her free time, Erin enjoys acting, running, kickboxing, and, of course, reading and writing.

Twitter: @ErinRhewBooks

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Erin-Rhew-Books/182769448541270

Website:  www.erinrhewbooks.com

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23265671-the-prophecy

Buy The Prophecy: http://www.amazon.com/Prophecy-Fulfillment-Book-1-ebook/dp/B00O1IVMPO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1412178669&sr=8-1&keywords=the+prophecy+erin+rhew

Pre-order The Outlanders: http://www.amazon.com/Outlanders-Fulfillment-Book-2-ebook/dp/B00O2I8X50/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1412178701&sr=8-1&keywords=the+outlanders+erin+rhew

cover_PROPHECY (2)About the book

Growing up on a small farm in the kingdom of Vanguard, seventeen-year-old Layla Givens lives a deceptively tranquil existence. But her carefully constructed life quickly falls apart when she’s abducted by a religious zealot who proclaims her The Fulfillment of an ancient peace prophecy and whisks her away to marry her greatest enemy.
Wilhelm, Prince of the Ethereals, is reluctant to meet his new bride. He’s grown up believing Vanguards are evil, an enemy to fight and fear…not love. Can he set aside his prejudices and work alongside Layla to bring lasting peace after centuries of war?

Nash, a loner who has never fit in, carries a huge secret, one big enough to destroy both kingdoms. When he accidently meets Layla, he’s no longer content to live in the shadows, but he must resist his growing attraction—for her safety and for the longevity of the two kingdoms. When Nash’s secret is revealed, a firestorm sweeps through both realms, with Layla at the center. Now she must choose between duty and desire while the fate of two nations hangs in the balance.

2 thoughts on “Erin Rhew – Interview

Leave a Reply

